Top public servants named new IPAA national fellows

By David Donaldson

Thursday October 18, 2018

The Institute of Public Administration Australia has recognised ten of its finest with the organisation’s highest honour, a national fellow award, in Melbourne on Tuesday night.

IPAA National President Professor Peter Shergold announced the new fellows at the IPAA national conference dinner.

“The national fellow awards recognise those individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the study and practice of public administration,” Shergold said.


Alison Larkins, who became a principal at the Nous Group earlier this year, and prior to that was chief operating officer and deputy secretary at the Commonwealth Department of Health. She has also held senior roles within the Department of Immigration and Border Protection and the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Bronwen Overton-Clarke PSM, who retired in December as ACT public sector standards commissioner — the territory’s equivalent of a public sector commissioner — and deputy director-general, workforce capability and governance CMTEDD. She was the architect of the ACT’s new Public Sector Management Act.

Brendan Sargeant, who was acting secretary of the Department of Defence for part of last year, and had held the position of associate secretary there for four years prior. He now holds the position of honorary professor at the Strategic and Defence Studies Centre at the ANU.

New South Wales

Dr Teresa Anderson AM (pictured above), chief executive of the Sydney Local Health District, which provides services to more than 600,000 people in Sydney. She has over 30 years experience in the public health system as a clinician and manager.

Glenn King (pictured above), deputy secretary of the Premier’s Implementation Unit. He previously was CEO of Service NSW, establishing and then leading the agency. He has extensive experience in customer service and organisational change, and spent 14 years at the National Australia Bank.


Cheryl Batagol PSM, chair of the Environmental Protection Authority since 2009. The EPA is undergoing major reform, recently becoming a statutory authority with its own governing board, to which Batagol was appointed chair for two years in December 2017.

David Martine, secretary of the Department of Treasury and Finance since 2014, after moving from the Commonwealth. Previously deputy secretary aged care in the federal Department of Social Services, and was deputy secretary, budget group in the Department of Finance and Deregulation.


Dave Stewart, director-general at the Department of Premier and Cabinet. Previously he was secretary of Transport for New South Wales, deputy coordinator-general within the Queensland Department of Infrastructure and Planning, director-general at Queensland Transport and the Department of Transport and Main Roads.

Western Australia

Nina Lyhne, managing director, transport services at the Department of Transport since 2011. She previously held the positions of WorkSafe WA commissioner and executive director of the Office of Road Safety.

South Australia

David Reynolds, under treasurer/chief executive at the Department of Treasury and Finance since 2015. He was previously deputy under treasurer, and before that spent 8 years in the budget branch.

Image: Professor Peter Shergold with Teresa Anderson and Glenn King.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals