Daniel Andrew's new ministry list for his government's second term

By The Mandarin

November 29, 2018

Re-elected Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews has kept his promise that 50% of his cabinet will be women. To do so, he’s broken up the super portfolio of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources.

This will create two new departments, the Department of Transport (DOT) and the Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions (DJPR). The Department of Justice and Regulation is also being renamed the Department of Justice and Community Safety (DJCS).

Read our story about the machinery of government changes for public servants here.

Three department secretaries have resigned ahead of today’s ministerial reshuffle, taking other jobs or for family reasons.


Daniel Andrews Premier
James Merlino Deputy Premier
Minister for Education
Gavin Jennings Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
Special Minister of State
Minister for Priority Precincts
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
Jaclyn Symes* Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council
Minister for Regional Development
Minister for Agriculture
Minister for Resources
Tim Pallas Treasurer
Minister for Economic Development
Minister for Industrial Relations
Jacinta Allan Leader of the House
Minister for Transport Infrastructure
Ben Carroll Minister for Crime Prevention
Minister for Corrections
Minister for Youth Justice
Minister for Victim Support
Lily D’Ambrosio Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change
Minister for Solar Homes
Luke Donnellan Minister for Child Protection
Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers
Martin Foley Minister for Mental Health
Minister for Equality
Minister for Creative Industries
Jill Hennessy Attorney-General
Minister for Workplace Safety
Melissa Horne Minister for Public Transport
Minister for Ports and Freight
Marlene Kairouz Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation
Minister for Suburban Development
Jenny Mikakos Minister for Health
Minister for Ambulance Services
Lisa Neville Minister for Water
Minister for Police and Emergency Services
Martin Pakula Minister for Jobs, Innovation and Trade
Minister for Tourism, Sport and Major Events
Minister for Racing
Jaala Pulford Minister for Roads
Minister for Road Safety and the TAC
Minister for Fishing and Boating
Robin Scott Assistant Treasurer
Minister for Veterans
Adem Somyurek Minister for Local Government
Minister for Small Business
Gayle Tierney Minister for Training and Skills
Minister for Higher Education
Gabrielle Williams Minister for Prevention of Family Violence
Minister for Women
Minister for Youth
Richard Wynne Minister for Planning
Minister for Housing
Minister for Multicultural Affairs

Parliamentary Secretaries

Danny Pearson Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
Lizzie Blandthorn Parliamentary Secretary for Carers
Parliamentary Secretary for Sport
Josh Bull Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
Anthony Carbines Parliamentary Secretary for Health
Steve Dimopoulos Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
Paul Edbrooke Parliamentary Secretary for Police and Emergency Services
Jane Garrett Parliamentary Secretary for Jobs
Natalie Hutchins Parliamentary Secretary for Treaty
Sonya Kilkenny Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education
Frank McGuire Parliamentary Secretary for Crime Prevention
Parliamentary Secretary for Medical Research
Tim Richardson Parliamentary Secretary for Schools
Harriet Shing Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health
Ros Spence Parliamentary Secretary for Road Infrastructure
Vicki Ward Parliamentary Secretary for Public Transport Infrastructure

*Jaclyn Symes will be sworn in when the Victorian Electoral Commission confirms her election. Until that time, Minister Pulford will retain Regional Development and Agriculture and the Treasurer will retain Resources.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals