Deadline extended to nominate government's human rights advocates

By Shannon Jenkins

July 23, 2019

Source: Getty Images

The nomination deadline for the Human Rights Awards has been extended to 29 July 2019.

 The Australian Human Rights Commission encourages the nomination of individuals, businesses or organisations who have worked to overcome discrimination or inequality, or encouraged social harmony in areas such as race relations, gender equality and treatment of children and young people.

 Nominations can be submitted to the following nine award categories:

  • Government Award
  • Human Rights Medal
  • Law Award
  • Young People’s Human Rights Medal
  • Business Award
  • Racism. It Stops With Me Award
  • Media Award
  • Tony Fitzgerald Memorial Community Individual Award
  • Community Organisation Award

Last year marked the first time a government category was included in the awards, which is open to any federal, state or local government body.

READ MORE: Throwing a spotlight on government’s good human rights work

“The essence of the human rights awards is to acknowledge the broad range of contributions to protecting human rights in Australia,” AHRC President Rosalind Croucher told The Mandarin in the lead up to the 2018 awards.

“What we recognise through the many consultations we do is that there are thousands of local government bodies that are really active, whether through multicultural events, disability and inclusion, homelessness, making visible elder abuse — because it’s often not visible — and we wanted to give an opportunity for recognition through our human rights celebrations each year.”

Last year, the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation took home the government award, for their introduction of a human rights policy, Reconciliation Action Plan, and the largest integrated para-athlete program in the history of the Commonwealth Games.

Finalists included the City of Ballarat, the the Department of Justice and Regulation and the Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission’s Charter Education Project, and Professor Peter Shergold.

The Human Rights Awards ceremony will be held on 13 December 2019.

Details and nomination forms can be found on the AHRC website

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today