Movers & shakers: first Indigenous chair to MDBA subcommittee

By Shannon Jenkins

November 15, 2019

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

APS senior executives

Band 1

Lorena Skipper has been appointed executive director at the Australian National Audit Office. She has worked in the agency for many years in various roles including senior director and auditor principal.

Penelope Jones

Over in the Department of Education, Penelope Jones has been named senior advisor of the executive team. She was previously in the Health department, working in Indigenous health, and has also served in Social Services.

Belinda Robertson has been named a national manager in the Department of Human Services.

John Clark has taken the role of assistant parliamentary budget officer in the Parliamentary Budget Office. He previously worked in the Treasury.


Annwyn Godwin

Annwyn Godwin has been reappointed as chief executive officer of the Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority (IPEA) for five more years.

Godwin commenced as IPEA’s inaugural CEO in January 2018, after almost three decades in the public service. She was most recently the Australian Public Service merit protection commissioner, and Parliamentary Service merit protection commissioner. She has also held senior executive roles in customs, immigration and the Agriculture department, and has also served as the Norfolk Island public service commissioner.

Crown Solicitor’s Office

David Schneider

The NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet’s chief information officer David Schneider will leave his role at the end of the month in a move to the state Crown Solicitor’s Office, where he will be the organisation’s first IT director.

Schneider has been with the department since 2012. Prior to that, he was tech chief at the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage. He has also worked at the Roads and Traffic Authority, the University of NSW and Andersen Consulting.



Phil Duncan

Phil Duncan has been appointed chair of the Murray-Darling Basin Authority’s Basin Community Committee.

A Gomeroi man from Moree in New South Wales, Duncan is the first Indigenous Australian to lead the independent advisory group. His experience spans the university sector, state and Commonwealth governments, where he has given policy and strategic advice on water and environmental matters.

He has served as chair of the National Water Commission’s First People’s Water Engagement Council, and has been actively involved in native fish management in the basin. He has been a member of the committee since 2018.

The committee allows communities from across the Murray–Darling to share insights and knowledge with the MDBA and basin governments. MDBA acting chair Joanna Hewitt said the committee would increase community understanding of water management under Duncan’s leadership. She also thanked outgoing chair Rory Treweeke for his contributions to the committee over the past 10 years.

Duncan will take over the role in January.

Bushfire recovery NSW

Euan Ferguson

Euan Ferguson has been appointed as the recovery coordinator to oversee the response to the impact of the NSW bushfires.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian said it would be “appropriate” to make the appointment so that Ferguson could “familiarise himself with the impacts as they develop”.

Ferguson has more than 40 years of experience in emergency services. He was the recovery coordinator for the North Coast floods in 2017, and the Bega Valley bush fires in 2018. He has also led the Victorian Country Fire Authority and South Australian Country Fire Service.

In his new role, Ferguson will work with the existing Northern NSW recovery operation, and will partner with impacted local councils to establish a new Mid North Coast NSW recovery operation.

Australia Post

Lucio Di Bartolomeo

Lucio Di Bartolomeo has been appointed as chair of the Australia Post board for three years, starting later this month.

He currently chairs the Australian Naval Infrastructure, Northwest Rapid Transit, and Health Infrastructure NSW, and is non-executive director of the Moorebank Intermodal Company, AustralianSuper, Frontier Advisors, and The New Daily. He has previously worked as managing director of ADI Limited (now Thales Australia) and managing director of FreightCorp.

Bartolomeo replaces John Stanhope, and will step into the role during a review of the organisation’s long-term strategy.


Liz Roadley, Tom Sargant and Kevin McLaine have been appointed as directors to the V/Line Corporation Board, bringing experience in finance, asset management, accounting, public transport operations, and strategic planning.

Rachel Thomson

Rachel Thomson has also returned to the role. She has more than two decades of experience working nationally and internationally in senior roles across risk management and insurance. She is also an independent member of the Audit and Risk Committee for the Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning.

The new directors replace John Donovan and Kay Macaulay, and will hold the role until 30 October 30, 2022.

They will oversee V/Line’s corporate governance alongside recently appointed chair, Gabrielle Bell, and deputy chair Craig Cook.

They will also work with CEO James Pinder to deliver a modern, high-performing railway and coach service for Victoria.

Vic Police

Stephen Leane

Stephen Leane has been named Victoria’s new road safety camera commissioner.

The former Victoria Police assistant commissioner for road safety has 40 years’ experience in the force, having worked in a range of senior command roles. Since coming into the road safety role last year, Leane has led Victoria Police’s work on road safety and supervised the delivery of new road policing technology.

The speed camera watchdog will help ensure the state’s road safety camera network is operating with accuracy, integrity and efficiency.

Sal Perna will continue as acting road safety camera commissioner until Leane takes up the role in December.

Previously, in The Mandarin

Marlo Baragwanath

As previously reported in The Mandarin, public sector leader and legal practitioner Marlo Baragwanath has been named chief executive officer of the Independent Broad-based Anti-corruption Commission. She is currently the Victorian government solicitor, but began her public sector career as a senior policy officer at Ombudsman Victoria. She has also worked at the Department of Justice, WorkSafe, and the Victorian Building Authority.

Baragwanath starts her new role in January.

Meanwhile, Australian National University Associate Professor Meg Keen has been appointed to lead the new Australian Pacific Security College. Former chief of the Australian Defence Force, retired Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin, has also been appointed as chair of the college advisory board.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today