Nominations open for NSW women in local government awards

By Shannon Jenkins

January 13, 2020

Adobe Stock

Nominations for the 2020 New South Wales ministers’ awards for women in local government have opened.

The awards celebrate the contributions of women in the state’s councils who have worked hard to improve their communities.

Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock has urged councils, their employees, and local residents to nominate the female councillors and staff who have made a positive difference.

“There are a growing number of women playing a vital role in creating stronger local councils and contributing to a better life for their local residents,” she said.

“This has been particularly evident over the last year where a number of women have stepped up and gone above and beyond to help their community through drought or fire.”

Categories currently open for nominations are:

The employment diversity award, for a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level.

The elected representative award, which goes to a councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives.

The champion of change award, which recognises a general manager or senior manager who has excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council.

The alternative pathways award, for a female staff member who is breaking down gender stereotypes.

The young achiever’s award, which celebrates an outstanding trainee or apprentice under the age of 25.

These categories, along with the minister’s award – for a female councillor or council staff member who is “delivering quality outcomes and innovation in helping women in their local community” — are new this year.

The awards were created in 2008 to recognise inspirational women at the grassroots level of government in metropolitan, regional and rural councils, according to Minister for Women Bronnie Taylor.

“Not only do the awards recognise contemporary women who are performing brilliantly but they also inspire and encourage young women to consider a rewarding career in local government,” she said.

Nominations close on February 12. The awards will be presented at a ceremony at Parliament House in Sydney on March 24.

The nomination form can be found on the Office of Local Government website.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Canberra’s changed

Stay on top for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today