Movers & shakers: commissioners, secretaries, and chairs, oh my!

By Shannon Jenkins

February 6, 2020

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

APS Senior Executive Service

Band 3

Brendan McRandle

Brendan McRandle is the new chief executive officer of the National Water Grid Authority, and deputy secretary of the Water Group at the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development.

Annette Musolino has been promoted to deputy chief executive officer at Services Australia. She was previously a general counsel at the former Department of Human Services, and has worked as a government lawyer at the Department of Education, Employment, and Workplace Relations.

Band 2

Tiffany Blight

Tiffany Blight is first assistant secretary at the Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business. She was previously acting first assistant secretary, corporate strategy and governance, in the Department of Agriculture.

Lane Masterton has been promoted to general manager at the Australian Bureau of Statistics. He has held senior positions with the ABS for more than 10 years, in roles including acting general manager for the Statistical Business Transformation Program.

Jackie Morris has been named deputy clerk of the Senate in the Department of the Senate. Prior to joining the department, she worked for the Indigenous Land Corporation.

Rachel Goddard has taken the role of first assistant secretary at the Department of Veterans’ Affairs. She was previously at Human Services.

Band 1

Also at Veterans’ Affairs, Victoria Benz has been appointed assistant secretary/deputy commissioner. She was previously at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Anne Twyman is branch manager at the Department of Education.

Lorena Arpke

The Australian Taxation Office has three new assistant commissioners. Lorena Arpke has been appointed to the role in the Corporate Services Systems and Tax Management division, Martin Mane has taken the position in the Digital Partnerships Office and eInvoicing division, and Benjamin Foster works in the Digital Communication and Identity Services division.

Rebecca Carpenter has obtained a Band 1 role with the Attorney-General’s Department. She was previously at Health.

Lisa Crawford and Zoe Williams have both been named assistant secretaries in the Department of Home Affairs.

An unnamed public servant has been appointed assistant director-general, Intelligence Coordination and Evaluation, at the Office of National Intelligence.

Service Canada

Pia Andrews

Digital government leader Pia Andrews has been appointed special advisor, digital and client data workstream lead, at Employment and Social Development Canada. There, she will help drive its Benefits Delivery Modernization program. The program aims to improve the experience of Canadians with a broad range of government services, according to Andrews, while helping create the digital foundations for a “truly responsive, effective and human-centred public sector”.

Andrews was previously executive director of digital government and data, insights and transformation at the NSW Department of Finance, Services and Innovation. She has also worked as service integration lead at the New Zealand Department of Internal Affairs, project manager for international and strategic initiatives at AUSTRAC, and director of data infrastructure at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, among many other roles.

Royal Commission

Mark Binskin

Former chief of the Defence Force Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin will lead the Royal Commission into the Australian bushfires. Scott Morrison this week told parliament he had written to the premiers and chief ministers of states and territories seeking feedback on draft terms of reference for the royal commission.

NSW corrections

Acting Judge David Frearson has been appointed as the new chair of the State Parole Authority (SPA). He replaces James Wood, who has chaired the SPA since 2013.

Frearson has more than four decades of legal experience. Before he was elevated to the bench, he was deputy director of public prosecutions.

He was admitted as a barrister in 1977, became a crown prosecutor in 1985 and deputy senior crown prosecutor in 2000. In 2004, he was appointed a Senior Counsel. After a full-time judicial career on the District Court bench spanning ten years from 2009, his Honour was appointed as an Acting Judge. Frearson will begin his term as Chairman of the SPA on 24 February.

Responsible gambling Victoria

Tass Mousaferiadis

Tass Mousaferiadis has been appointed chair of the Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation board.

Mousaferiadis has 40 years experience in public health issues and community education, and has held roles at Beyond Blue and VicHealth. He joined the board in 2017. He  replaces Julie Ligeti, who has held the role since 2016.

Monique Conheady has been appointed deputy chair. She joined the board in 2013, and is a member of the Environmental Protection Authority Governing Board. Meanwhile, Wotjobaluk and Dja Dja Wurrung descendent Belinda Duarte has left the board. Duarte led the foundation’s Aboriginal Gambling Harm Reference Group in the development of its first Reconciliation Action Plan.

Skills and employment

Yasmin Allen

Yasmin Allen and John Murray have been named chairs of the steering groups for the Digital Technology and the Human Services Care Pilots, respectively, to help shape the national training system to better meet skills needs of specific industries.

Allen is a non-executive director at ASX Limited, Santos Ltd and Cochlear Ltd, while Murray is CEO of the Royal Australian Airforce Association WA.

The steering groups for the pilots will lead the development of a detailed design for each Skills Organisation Pilot including a governance model, areas of focus and forward work program ahead of more formal entities being formed or engaged later this year.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today