Axe to VPS secretary bonuses hits more agencies

By Shannon Jenkins

Tuesday February 18, 2020

(Image: Adobe/gearstd)

Executives at Victorian Public Service agencies could lose their bonuses, four years after the state’s departmental secretaries lost their extra cut.

A government spokesperson told The Mandarin a review by the Victorian Public Service Commission had recommended bonuses be phased out after it found that they were generally “not effective in driving performance or efficiency”.

“The phase-out of bonuses in public entities is expected to be cost-neutral,” they said.

Executives of bodies, including Parks Victoria, V/Line Corporation, the Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission, the Environment Protection Authority, and Visit Victoria will be affected.

Specific roles at the Treasury Corporation of Victoria and the Victorian Funds Management Corporation — to be “determined by the premier and the responsible minister” — will continue to be eligible for bonus opportunities, according to a government gazette.

Bonus “buy-out” offers are being made to executives who are on contracts with bonus provisions, the spokesperson noted, as a one-off salary increase is required in order to phase the bonuses out.

Those offers must be made by May and implemented by July.

The Victorian Independent Remuneration Tribunal will set new remuneration bands for public entity executives later this year.

Similarly, the state government scrapped bonuses for departmental secretaries and executives in 2016 in exchange for a one-off pay increase of 4%, following a review by the VPS Commission which found the practice was “ineffective in driving performance”.

When combined with fixed-term contracting, bonuses “tend to support a focus on individual performance within the contract term, compared with collaborative achievement and longer-term public service stewardship”, the review found at the time.

Read more: Why did Victoria axe executive bonuses?

See the full list of entities subject to the policy below:

Accident Compensation Conciliation Service
Agriculture Victoria Services Pty Ltd
AMES Australia
Architects Registration Board of Victoria
Australian Grand Prix Corporation
Ballarat General Cemeteries Trust
Barwon Coast Committee of Management
Barwon Region Water Corporation
Barwon South West Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Bellarine Bayside Foreshore Committee of Management (Inc)
Bendigo Cemeteries Trust
Bendigo Kangan Institute
Box Hill Institute (including the Centre for Adult Education)
BreastScreen Victoria
Capel Sound Foreshore Committee of Management Inc
Central Gippsland Region Water Corporation
Central Highlands Region Water Corporation
Centre for Books, Writing and Ideas
Chisholm Institute
City West Water Corporation
Coliban Region Water Corporation
Consumer Policy Research Centre
Corangamite Catchment Management Authority
Country Fire Authority
Dairy Food Safety Victoria
Development Victoria
Docklands Studios Melbourne
East Gippsland Catchment Management Authority
East Gippsland Region Water Corporation
Emerald Tourist Railway Board
Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority
Energy Safe Victoria
Environment Protection Authority
Falls Creek Alpine Resort Management Board
Fed Square Pty Ltd
Federation Training Institute
Game Management Authority
Geelong Cemeteries Trust
Geelong Performing Arts Centre Trust
Gippsland and Southern Rural Water Corporation
Gippsland Ports Committee of Management
Gippsland Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Glenelg Hopkins Catchment Management Authority
Gordon Institute of TAFE
Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority
Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE
Goulburn Valley Region Water Corporation
Goulburn Valley Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Goulburn–Murray Rural Water Corporation
Grampians Central West Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water Corporation
Great Ocean Road Coast Committee Inc
Greater Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust
Greyhound Racing Victoria
Harness Racing Victoria
Health Purchasing Victoria
Holmesglen Institute
Kardinia Park Stadium Trust
Launch Victoria Legal Practitioners’ Liability Committee
Loddon Mallee Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Lower Murray Urban and Rural Water Corporation
Mallee Catchment Management Authority
Melbourne and Olympic Parks Trust
Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Trust
Melbourne Convention Bureau
Melbourne Market Authority
Melbourne Polytechnic
Melbourne Recital Centre
Melbourne Water Corporation
Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board
Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Mount Buller and Mount Stirling Alpine Resort Management Board
Mount Hotham Resort Management Board
North Central Catchment Management Authority
North East Catchment Management Authority
North East Region Water Corporation
North East Waste and Resource Recovery Group
Parks Victoria
Phillip Island Nature Park Board of Management
Port of Hastings Development Authority
Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority
PrimeSafe Public Transport Development Authority
Queen Victoria Women’s Centre Trust
Royal Botanic Gardens Board
Shrine of Remembrance Trust
South East Water Corporation
South Gippsland Region Water Corporation
South West Institute of TAFE
Southern Alpine Resort Management Board
Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust
State Sport Centres Trust
State Trustees Limited
Sunraysia Institute of TAFE
Sustainability Victoria (CEO Only)
Transport Accident Commission
Treasury Corporation of Victoria
Trust for Nature (Victoria)
V/Line Corporation
VET Development Centre
Veterinary Practitioners Registration Board of Victoria
Victoria State Emergency Service
Victorian Arts Centre Trust
Victorian Asbestos Eradication Agency
Victorian Assisted Reproductive Treatment Authority
Victorian Building Authority
Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission
Victorian Funds Management Corporation
Victorian Health Promotion Foundation
Victorian Institute of Sport Victorian Institute of Teaching
Victorian Managed Insurance Authority
Victorian Pharmacy Authority
Victorian Planning Authority
Victorian Ports Corporation (Melbourne)
Victorian Rail Track Corporation
Victorian Regional Channels Authority
Victorian Responsible Gambling Foundation
Visit Victoria
VITS LanguageLoop
Wannon Region Water Corporation
West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority
Western Region Water Corporation
Westernport Region Water Corporation
William Angliss Institute of TAFE
Wimmera Catchment Management Authority
Winton Wetlands Committee of Management
Wodonga Institute of TAFE
Working Heritage
Yarra Valley Water Corporation
Zoological Parks and Gardens Board

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today