The nine policy experts answering the burning questions facing public sector leaders

By Shannon Jenkins

June 16, 2020


The Mandarin’s brain trust of policy leaders and experts has been gaining attention.

With nine members from a range of backgrounds, the Select Committee provides comment and insight into key public sector and policy issues.

Its membership includes:

  • Lucy Turnbull. An urbanist, businesswoman, and philanthropist, she was the first female Lord Mayor of the City of Sydney.
  • Former Western Australian premier Geoff Gallop. He is currently professor and director of the Graduate School of Government at the University of Sydney.
  • Former secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Terry Moran. Moran currently holds a number of roles, including chancellor of Federation University and chair of the Centre for Policy Development.
  • Helen Silver. a former secretary of the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet, Silver is currently Allianz Australia’s chief general manager, corporate governance and conduct.
  • Former Victorian public servant Richard Bolt. He is currently a principal at Nous Group, and an adjunct professor of energy transformation at Swinburne University.
  • CEO of Lateral Economics and the chair of the Open Knowledge Foundation (Australia), Nicholas Gruen.
  • Professor Helen Sullivan, director of the Australian National University’s Crawford School of Public Policy.
  • CEO and dean of the Australian and New Zealand School of Government, Ken Smith.
  • Former deputy secretary of the Department of Finance, Stephen Bartos. He is currently a consultant.

Last week the group answered its first question: As the workplace begins a transition towards business as usual, what should public sector leaders ensure is done differently into the future?

READ MORE: Introducing The Select Committee – The Mandarin Brains Trust

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Canberra’s changed

Stay on top for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today