NSW regional department to place 100 public servants across four outback offices

By Shannon Jenkins

June 26, 2020


Four new Department of Regional New South Wales offices will be set up in the bush, the state government announced on Friday.

Staff will initially be based out of offices in Queanbeyan and Armidale, with workplaces to eventually be established in Dubbo and Coffs Harbour.

Up to 100 public servants will be spread across the four offices.

Deputy premier John Barilaro said the move would place the “unique challenges and lifestyles” which people living in regional areas face at the forefront of government decision-making.

“Regional NSW has seen drought, bushfires and COVID-19 bring communities to their knees and I am determined to see this government provide better representation to make sure we get the services we deserve,” he said.

The department was established in April, with Gary Barnes — regional NSW coordinator general at the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment — appointed as head.

Meanwhile, Barilaro noted the Department of Primary Industries headquarters would continue to operate from Orange, with a new head office building expected to be completed this year.

He said the new workspaces would provide more jobs and opportunities to the regions.

“More than three quarters of the department’s staff are already based in the regions with the Department of Primary Industries, Local Land Services, Forestry, Mining Exploration and Geosciences staff in various offices and frontline positions, located right across regional NSW,” he said.

“The jobs created in these communities will help to support local economies and industry growth and these will be filled with people who know the unique challenges and experiences of living and working in towns in regional NSW.”

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today