Nominations open for Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government

By Shannon Jenkins

Thursday March 18, 2021

NSW Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock
NSW Minister for Local Government Shelley Hancock. (AAP Image/Joel Carrett)

The New South Wales government has called on the public to nominate an inspiring woman for the 2021 Ministers’ Awards for Women in Local Government.

The 14th annual awards are a chance to recognise women councillors and council staff who are improving their communities through hard work and bold ideas, according to local government minister Shelley Hancock.

“There are a growing number of women playing a vital role in creating stronger local councils and contributing to a better life for their local residents,” she said.

“I urge all councils and their employees as well as residents to nominate outstanding women whose dedication and commitment contribute so much to their local council and community’s overall success.”

The award categories open for nomination include:

  • Employment Diversity Award – a successful council program to increase female participation in senior leadership roles or at the elected representative level.
  • Elected Representative Award – a councillor who has advanced the position of female elected representatives.
  • Champion of Change Award – a general manager or senior manager who has excelled in supporting and encouraging women’s participation at their council.
  • Alternative Pathways Award – a female staff member who is breaking down gender stereotypes.
  • Young Achiever’s Award – an outstanding trainee/apprentice, aged under 25.

Each category will be separately awarded to a metropolitan council and a regional or rural council. Nominations close on April 30.

The Minister for Local Government Award for Women has been renamed the Lilliane Brady OAM Award, in honour of the late Cobar Mayor and NSW’s longest serving female mayor.

Brady was the inaugural recipient of the Minister for Local Government Award for Women in 2020. She passed away last month.

The government won’t be accepting nominations for this award, as the winner will be chosen by the minister. However, to further recognise Brady’s achievements, recipients of the Young Achiever’s Award will also receive the Lilliane Brady OAM Scholarship, worth $1500 each.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week

Get Premium Today