WA Office of the Auditor General takes home award for best annual report

By Shannon Jenkins

Tuesday June 29, 2021

WA parliament house-western australia
Local governments, community sector orgs, NFPs, unincorporated and community groups can now apply for WA’s latest round of gender equality grants. (Rafael Ben-Ari/Adobe)

Western Australian government agencies have come together to celebrate excellence in annual reporting at the 36th annual W.S. Lonnie Awards, held in Perth on Friday.

The awards, hosted by the Institute of Public Administration Australia WA (IPAA WA), recognise the importance of being accountable and transparent, and encourage excellence in annual reporting. They were established in honour of William Scott Lonnie, who had a long and distinguished career in the state public service.

A total of 25 awards were presented at the ceremony. Some agencies received multiple accolades, with the Fremantle Port Authority and WorkCover WA receiving three awards each, and the WA Country Health Service, the Department of Transport, and the Office of the Auditor General receiving two each. 

See the full list of award winners below.

Top accolades

W.S. Lonnie Memorial Trophy — Awarded to the best annual report for the year: Office of the Auditor General. The judges noted that the office provided a ‘very polished report’ that had a ‘very professional feel, good graphics and at a glance information at the beginning of each section’.

Margaret McAleer Special Commendation — Presented at the discretion of the panel for an outstanding report that, in some respect, establishes a benchmark to which others should aspire: Western Australian Country Health Service. This report, according to the judges, ‘exudes commitment to purpose’. 

Allan Skinner Trophy — Awarded to the best annual report in the general government sector: WorkCover WA. This report was ‘well structured, easy to follow’, the judges said.

The Margaret Nadebaum Trophy — Awarded to the best annual report in the government enterprise sector: Fremantle Port Authority, for covering ‘significant detail in a very accessible manner’.

General Award Winners

Category 1 – Agencies with < 100 FTEs

Gold Award Winner: Office of the Information Commissioner.

Silver Award Winner: Commissioner for Children and Young People.

Bronze Award Winner (Joint): Small Business Development Corporation, Peel Development Commission.

Special Commendations: Western Australian Electoral Commission.

Category 2 – Agencies with 101 – 1,000 FTEs

Gold Award Winner: Office of the Auditor General.

Silver Award Winner: WorkCover WA.

Bronze Award Winner: Department of Health.

Special Commendation: Department of Water and Environmental Regulation.

Category 3 – Agencies with > 1,000 FTEs

Gold Award Winner: East Metropolitan Health Service.

Silver Award Winner: Western Australian Country Health Service.

Bronze Award Winner (Joint): Department of Transport, Main Roads Western Australia.

Category 4 Government Trading Enterprises

Gold Award Winner: Fremantle Port Authority.

Silver Award Winner: Pilbara Ports Authority.

Bronze: Western Australian Treasury Corporation.

Specialist Awards

Office of the Auditor General Award for Transparency and Accountability: Department of Transport; Special Commendation: Pilbara Ports Authority.

WorkCover WA, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety, and Insurance Commission of Western Australia Award for Occupational Safety Health and Injury Management: Gold Corporation.

State Records Commission Award for Excellence in Compliance Reporting: Department of Justice.

Ombudsman Western Australia Award for Complaints Handling: Fremantle Port Authority.

CPA Australia Award for Performance Reporting: WorkCover WA.

Public Sector Commission Award for Good Governance: Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety; Special Commendation: Metropolitan Cemeteries Board.

Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Award for Chief Financial Officer of the Year: Ravi Proheea, WA Museum.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments