National Women’s Alliances receive $4.9m to continue policy work

By Shannon Jenkins

Wednesday July 7, 2021

YWCA Canberra has been chosen to auspice the new National Women’s Safety Alliance.
YWCA Canberra has been chosen to auspice the new National Women’s Safety Alliance. (Henryk Sadura/Adobe)

The federal government has chosen YWCA Canberra to auspice the new National Women’s Safety Alliance (NWSA), which will replace an existing organisation next month.

The NWSA is one of six women’s alliances to receive a total of $4.9 million in federal government funding over three years.

YWCA Canberra CEO Frances Crimmins said the NWSA would enable organisations and individuals from across Australia to have a say in the development of policies and programs aimed at reducing violence against women and children and improving support for survivors.

“This is an exciting opportunity for organisations and individuals across Australia who are working to end violence against women to inform national policy,” Crimmins said on Wednesday.

The alliance will undertake ‘accessible and equitable’ consultation processes with experts, people with lived experience, and other stakeholders, YWCA Canberra said.

The group will replace the current Australian Women Against Violence Alliance (AWAVA) from August 23. Crimmins said the new alliance would work closely with the AWAVA to transition members and to ensure continuity of work that is currently underway.

“Over the past 10 years, AWAVA has provided an important link between national experts on violence against women, service providers and survivors, and the government. We look forward to building on this work through the National Women’s Safety Alliance,” she said.

General membership to the NWSA will be sought from non-government, not-for-profit and social enterprise organisations, as well as from individuals who are subject matter experts or women with lived experience. Representation will include Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women, women from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, women with disability, women in regional and remote areas, women in prison, LGBTIQA+ women, and voices from each state and territory.

Read more: Senior public servants leading advisory group to end violence against women

The announcement has coincided with the government’s commitment of $4.9 million over three years to continue the six specialist National Women’s Alliances, including the NWSA.

The alliances to receive funding include:

  • Women’s economic security and leadership: YWCA Australia – Equality Rights Alliance,
  • Australian women from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds: Migration Council Australia – Harmony Alliance,
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women: National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Women’s Alliance,
  • Women living in rural, regional and remote areas of Australia: National Rural Women’s Coalition,
  • Australian women with disability: Women with Disabilities (Australia),
  • Women’s safety: YWCA Canberra – National Women’s Safety Alliance.

Minister for women Marise Payne said she looked forward to working with the alliances to develop policy that improves outcomes for women across Australia.

“The National Women’s Alliances are a valuable source of insight and advice to government and they bring women’s perspectives to the forefront of policy development,” she said.

Read more: Julia Banks reveals what it takes for women to survive under Morrison’s leadership


About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Canberra’s changed

Stay on top for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today