Movers & shakers: Renée Leon heads to CSU

By Shannon Jenkins

Friday August 27, 2021

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

Senior Executive Service

Lisiane Barao Macleod

Band 2

Lisiane Barao Macleod has been appointed general manager at Services Australia. Barao Macleod has held a number of federal and New South Wales government roles.

Ian Scensor has been appointed first assistant secretary, aged care IT senior responsible officer at the Department of Health.

Jane Temby

Band 1

The Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment has named Anna Brezzo assistant secretary, and Jane Temby general counsel.

Matthew Flint has been appointed assistant secretary, COVID-19 Response Taskforce at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Leon heads to CSU

Former senior mandarin Renée Leon has been named Charles Sturt University’s fifth vice-chancellor.

The former Department of Human Services head was one of five commonwealth secretaries to lose the top job following a restructure of the APS that saw 18 departments cut down to 14 in late 2019.

Renée Leon

She has previously led the Department of Employment and the ACT Department of Justice and Community Safety, and is a fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia, an adjunct professor at the University of Canberra, and a member of Chief Executive Women Australia. Last year she was appointed as chair of the ACT government’s Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Steering Committee.

Chancellor Dr Michele Allan said she was delighted to announce the appointment.

“Renée strongly believes in the benefits of higher education and in particular the critical role that Charles Sturt University plays in the regional communities that it serves,” she said.

“She has demonstrated her skills in effectively running large and complex organisations with multiple stakeholders and is the right person to lead Charles Sturt University into the next stage of our development.”

Leon said she was honoured to lead the university, and was looking forward to working with an academic team.

“Regional universities contribute hugely to regional development and sustainability, and it is exciting to join Charles Sturt University at a time when regional Australia is growing and evolving,” she said.

Leon will be based at the university’s Bathurst campus and will assume her new role on September 1.

Interim vice-chancellor Professor John Germov will return to his substantive role as provost and deputy vice-chancellor (academic).

Top cop named WA vaccine commander

The Western Australian government has appointed state emergency coordinator Chris Dawson to the new role of COVID-19 vaccine commander.

Chris Dawson

The top cop will lead the state’s COVID-19 vaccination program while providing whole-of-state oversight and maximising the rollout through state and commonwealth channels, the WA government said. He will also engage with commonwealth, state and non-government sectors, and lead communications and stakeholder engagement to ensure specific hesitant groups are supported to get the jab.

Dawson will remain as state emergency coordinator while commencing his new role, while deputy commissioner Col Blanch will undertake day-to-day duties of the police commissioner.

The chief operating officer of the vaccine program within the Department of Health, and a small project team will report directly to Dawson, to ‘support the operational delivery of the vaccine program’.

Dawson will report directly to the premier and health minister. A Vaccination Strategic Coordination Group will be established to support the commander with the directors general of the Departments of Premier and the Cabinet and Health as well as the chief health officer.

Dawson takes on the role effective immediately for an initial term to December 31, 2021.

Premier Mark McGowan said he has been pleased with the uptake of the vaccine in WA, but warned that the state could not afford to rest on its laurels.

“Dedicated leadership will help drive the program forward, putting WA in the best position to complete the rollout with innovative and fit-for-purpose strategies, unique for WA,” he said.

“The police commissioner has done a tremendous job throughout the pandemic, and I have full confidence he will continue to excel and deliver on this important task ahead, as both the state emergency coordinator and vaccine commander.”

Victorian Multicultural Commission

The Victorian Multicultural Commission has appointed eight new commissioners, including Abiola Akinbiyi as community representative commissioner and Lunorphare (Luna) Folly as youth commissioner. Bwe Thay has also been reappointed as deputy chair of the organisation.

The new commissioners are:

  • Tarang Chawla,
  • Jennifer Huppert,
  • Nyangak (Lizzy) Kuoth,
  • Mohamed Mohideen,
  • Bill Papastergiadis,
  • Silvia Renda,
  • Abiola Akinbiyi,
  • Luna Folly.
Bwe Thay

They join current commissioners Sankaran (Shankar) Kasynathan and Dr Judy Tang, and chair Vivienne Nguyen.

Nguyen said she was delighted to welcome the new commissioners to the team.

“I am confident that together we can achieve the positive outcomes we are working towards in advocacy, leadership and elevating the community voice in promoting the social, cultural and economic benefits of diversity in our state,” she said.

Multicultural affairs minister Ros Spence and Nguyen have thanked outgoing commissioners Walter Rapoport, Khayshie Tilak Ramesh, Mohammed Yassin, Tina Hosseini and Rosaria Zarro, and commissioners David Vincent and Sisay Dinku, who resigned in the past year.

Spence noted that the commissioners play a vital role, linking Victoria’s multicultural communities with government.

“The new commissioners bring valuable experience, and I look forward to working with them to ensure we are supporting multicultural communities to the best of our ability,” she said.

NSW Youth Advisory Council

The New South Wales government has appointed a dozen young leaders to its 2021-22 Youth Advisory Council.

The new council members include:

  • Mae Carroll – Grafton,
  • Alyssa Horan – Mosman,
  • Meika Lindsay – Royalla,
  • Shahim Shabbir – Mount Druitt,
  • Jayden Delbridge – Wadalba,
  • Leila Mangos – Point Frederick,
  • Lua Pellegrini – Toongabbie,
  • Joe Vu – Canley Heights,
  • David Ho – Wakeley,
  • Katy Quinn – Lake Cargelligo,
  • Oscar Ryan – Port Kembla,
  • Stassi Austin – Cootamundra.

The council will advise the NSW government on issues that affect young people, according to families, communities and disability services minister Alister Henskens.

“There are many young people from all walks of life seeking to energise, lead and advocate for their generation and the best way to represent and serve our youth is to let their voice be heard,” he said.

The appointees were selected following an extensive recruitment process that saw 585 young people aged 12 to 24 apply.

Advocate for children and young people Zoë Robinson will support the council throughout their one-year term.

“Every year the members of the NSW Youth Advisory Council provide practical and valuable advice to government. I look forward to working with the 2021-22 Council and supporting them in their good work,” she said.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week

Get Premium Today