Perrottet elected new NSW premier

By Jackson Graham

October 5, 2021

Dominic Perrottet
NSW premier Dominic Perrottet (AAP Image/Dan Himbrechts)

Dominic Perrottet will be the next premier of NSW, following a Liberal party vote that also included planning minister Rob Stokes. 

Government whip Adam Crouch announced Perrottet had been elected to the party’s leader in a secret ballot on Tuesday morning and jobs minister Stuart Ayres had become deputy leader. 

Perrottet, the NSW treasurer, was the front-runner to become the party’s new leader in the secret ballot. 

Perrottet received an overwhelming majority of 39 votes to Stokes’ five votes, while Ayres was elected unopposed.

Emerging from the party room on Tuesday, Perrottet said it was an “absolute privilege” to be elected. 

“I really appreciate the trust that my colleagues have put in me today,” he said, signalling he would have more to say later in the day. 

It follows the resignation of Gladys Berejiklian, premier since 2017, after ICAC announced on Friday it was investigating her over claims she breached public trust. 

Deputy premier and National’s leader John Barilaro announced on Monday that he would resign and a ballot is due to be called on Wednesday morning.


Something is broken in the way we are conducting Australian politics

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today