Movers & Shakers: Productivity Commission appointment, department promotions, ARC’s new faces

By Jackson Graham

Thursday October 28, 2021

movers & shakers
The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country

Senior Executive Service 

Sam Reinhardt

Band 3

Sam Reinhardt has become head of office at the  Productivity Commission, moving from the Department of Treasury. 

Band 2

Services Australia has promoted Derek Byrnes to a general manager role. 

David Woods has become first assistant secretary at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Band 1

David Woods

The National Disability Insurance Agency has promoted Clair Wheeler to service guidance and practice branch manager, and Daniel Flowers to AAT case management branch manager. 

Thomas (Geoffrey) Bowan has been promoted to assistant secretary at the  Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Stephen McCarey has moved from Home Affairs to become an assistant secretary at the Department of Foreign Affairs.

The Department of Defence has promoted Jacinda Stewart to a senior executive position. 

Craig Hendry has been promoted to grants management unit branch manager at the  National Indigenous Australians Agency.

Elodie Journet

Lauren Alcantara has become education and youth policy branch manager at the  National Indigenous Australians Agency; Simone Persson has become housing branch manager. 

Austrade has promoted Elodie Journet to head of strategic programs and change.

Timothy Abrahams has become an assistant secretary at the Australian Taxation Office. 

Caroline Martin has become assistant secretary at the Department of Agriculture, Water and Environment.

New Tourism Australia chair

Michael Issenberg has become the next chair of Tourism Australia, after a career leading in the hotel industry. 

Issenberg worked for Accor for more than 25 years, previously serving as the chair and chief executive of Accor Hotel Asia Pacific, based in Singapore. 

Michael Issenberg

He has been awarded Asia Pacific Hotelier of the Year in numerous years since 2012 and won the Hotel Management Award and International Hotelier of the Year at the China Hotel Investment Conference in 2014.

Tourism minister Dan Tehan said Issenberg was a crucial appointment with whom he looked forward to working as Australia opened back up to the world after the COVID-19 crisis. 

“He brings to the role a wealth of experience and great energy and commitment to support the industry and its 660,000 workers and businesses,” Tehan said. 

Meanwhile, Queensland’s Annabel Dolphin will join the Tourism Australia board, while Jeffrey Ellison will serve a second term as deputy chair, and John Hart will serve a second term.

Refresh for Australian Research Council 

Maggie Walter

Six new members will join the Australian Research Council, serving for the next three years while two members from the previous council have stayed on. 

The newcomers include Calum Drummond, from RMIT; Mark Hutchinson, from University of Adelaide; Su McCluskey, Intergenerational Agriculture research commissioner; Chris Moran, from Curtin University; Michelle Simmons, from the University of New South Wales; and Maggie Walter, Victoria’s Yoo-rrook Justice Commissioner. 

Deborah Terry, from University of Queensland, and Mark McKenzie, from Small Business Organisations Australia, have stayed on the council for a second term. 

They will provide research and industry views to chief executive Sue Thomas to help guide the ARC direction and activity. 

Former secretary to give water advice 

Former Agriculture and Water Resources Department secretary Daryl Quinlivan has become principal adviser to a panel examining ACCC recommendations that will examine Murray-Darling Basin water markets. 

He said communities wanted assurance they had reliable, fit-for-purpose water markets that gave everyone a fair go and that the community could have confidence in. 

“I am looking forward to getting on with the job and developing a roadmap that can inform the Australian Government’s approach to this critical piece of public policy,” Quinlivan said.

“My focus will be on improving water market performance without adding unnecessary costs and regulatory burdens on users.”

The federal government is finalising the appointments of nine remaining panel members who will be assisting Quinlivan.

Homelessness expert becomes strategic advisor 

Peter Sandeman

Adjunct Professor Peter Sandeman will advise the SA government on its SA Housing Authority. 

He was the chief executive of Anglicare from May 2019 to December 2020 and has held similar executive roles with Anglicare in NSW and ACT. 

At the housing authority, his role involves working with government and non-government agencies in the homelessness and community housing sector to strengthen collaboration and drive reform. 

He starts in the part-time role next week.

New faces lead greyhound board

John Williams and Rebekah Giles will be chair and deputy chair, while Helen Moore will join the board as a director. 

Williams has a track record of advocating for rural and regional Australia, with shearer, truck driver, farmer and business owner all among roles he’s held. 

Moore, a previous member of the board, has business and executive expertise currently as COO of Collins Food Group, and previously at Woolworths Limited, Deutsche Bank and JP Morgan.

Giles is a practising lawyer with a background in sports law. She has been chair of the integrity committee on the GWS Giants board and is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and chair of the Centennial Parklands foundation.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals