Movers & Shakers: New DPM&C appointments, bureau formalises new director

By Jackson Graham

Friday November 19, 2021

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country.

Senior Executive Service 

Band 1 

Rocelle Ago

The Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet has promoted Anthea Fell to environment, resilience and resources branch assistant secretary, Angela McKenzie to legal integrity and national cabinet assistant secretary, and Sacha Edema to an assistant secretary. 

Catherine Gladman has been promoted in the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications

The Administrative Appeals Tribunal has promoted Alison Nesbitt to review support executive director. 

The Attorney-General’s department has promoted Kieran Butler to assistant secretary. 

Rocelle Ago is now assistant commissioner of freedom of information at the Office of the Australian Information Commissioner.

ABARES formalises executive director

Jared Greenville

Dr Jared Greenville is officially the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences, after acting in the role since early this year. 

The bureau is the science and economics research division of the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.

The department’s secretary, Andrew Metcalfe, said Greenville would bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the role.

“He will ensure ABARES continues delivering world-class research, analysis and advice for stakeholders on significant issues affecting our agriculture, fisheries and forestry industries,” Metcalfe said. 

“A key focus will be continuing to develop the bureau’s capability as an innovative and trusted provider of high-quality services and products — and making this information accessible and understandable.” 

Greenville has worked at ABARES since 2018, and previously held senior roles at the OECD. He has also previously worked at the Productivity Commission. 

Victoria swears in new lieutenant-governor 

James Angus

Professor James Angus is the new lieutenant-governor of Victoria, after he was sworn in by governor Linda Dessau.

Angus has had a career in academic and biomedical research, focused on pharmacology and cardiovascular disease.

He worked with the Baker Medical Institute for 15 years, has served as chair of pharmacology at the University of Melbourne, and was dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences for 10 years.

Angus is the current chair of the Australian Advisory Council on Medicinal Use of Cannabis, director of the Jack Brockhoff Foundation, and chair of the Campus Council at the Melbourne Children’s Campus. 

He is also director at the Royal Children’s Hospital Foundation, Science in Australia Gender Equity, and the National Stem Cell Australia Foundation.

In the new role, he will serve as deputy to the governor, particularly when the governor is away. 

WA appoints new director general

Peter Woronzow

Peter Woronzow has formally become the director-general of WA’s Department of Transport, after acting in the role since March 2020.

He will also continue to be commissioner of main roads and chief executive officer of the Public Transport Authority. 

Woronzow has a career in the transport sector spanning more than four decades, mostly at Main Roads WA, which he joined in 1980, and served as managing director. 

His time acting as director-general saw the state’s transport portfolio continue to be delivered through the pandemic, while he also established the Office of Major Transport Infrastructure Delivery and fast-tracked 11 major road projects.


New Children’s Court president

Ellen Skinner

Magistrate Ellen Skinner is officially president of the Children’s Court of NSW, after acting in the role since September. 

She has been appointed for a five-year term as president and has also been elevated to the bench of the District Court.

Skinner comes to the role with years of experience as a solicitor and magistrate, and had previous roles including managing solicitor at the Aboriginal Legal Service at the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions and Legal Aid. 

She replaces former president Peter Johnstone, who is now the NSW chief magistrate. Skinner is due to be sworn in on Monday. 

NWSA appoints policy panel

The National Women’s Safety Alliance has appointed members of its Policy and Advocacy Advisory Committee. 

The committee provides expert advice to the NWSA CEO Renee Hamilton and informs and guides the delivery of the policy and advocacy program. 

The committee includes: 

  • Catherine Fitzpatrick, Westpac (chair)
  • Hayley Foster, Rape and Domestic Violence Services Australia
  • Nicky Bath, LGBTQI+ Health Australia
  • Yvette Cehtel, Women’s Legal Services Australia
  • Heather Clarke, National Association of Services Against Sexual Violence
  • Helen Dalley-Fisher, Equality Rights Alliance
  • Cara Gleeson, Our Watch
  • Amanda Matthews, Violet Co
  • Sally Moyle, Australian National University
  • Lisa Pusey, Elizabeth Broderick & Co
  • Gulnara Abbasova, Harmony Alliance

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals