Movers & Shakers: Dozens of SES appointments, NIAA’s new leader

By Jackson Graham

Friday January 14, 2022

Movers & Shakers, January 14, 2022

The latest senior public sector appointments from across the country

Senior Executive Service 

Miranda Lauman

Band 2 

The Department of Education, Skills and Employment has promoted Tristan Reed to analytics and integrity first assistant secretary, Miranda Lauman to engagement and delivery first assistant secretary, and Clare Sharp to apprenticeships and workforce skills first assistant secretary.

Jennifer Mackinlay

Lisa Peterson has been promoted to sector capability assistant commissioner at the Aged Care Safety and Quality Commission

The Defence Department has promoted Rowena Bain to FAS ministerial and executive coordination and communication, Francesca Rush to FAS Australian industry capability, and Stephen Moore to FAS defence industry policy. 

The Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications has promoted Matthew Roper, Lisa La Rance and Gregory Cox to first assistant secretary roles.  

Jennifer Mackinlay has been promoted as Europe general manager at Austrade.

Band 1

The Department of Education, Skills and Employment has appointed  Ricardo Alberto as infrastructure, platforms and projects assistant secretary, Jacqueline McKellar as security operations assistant secretary, Michele Arcaro as provider strategy and approvals assistant secretary, and Eve Wisowaty as local jobs and workforce assistant secretary. 

Home Affairs has promoted Andrew Tankey to assistant secretary strategic coordination, Kimberlee Stamatis to assistant secretary customs and trade policy,  Luke Muffett to assistant secretary strategic policy,  Christopher Gower to international operations and coordination commander. 

Danica Yanchenko has been promoted to assistant secretary at the Attorney-General’s Department.

Matthew Coulton

Amanda Conroy has been promoted to people services branch manager at the Social Services Department

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission has promoted Michelle Bampton to intake and complaints resolution executive director, Kerrie Hancox to restrictive practices senior practitioner, and Anthony Speed to quality assessment and monitoring executive director. 

Sheila Logan has become risk assessment capability executive director at the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority

Matthew Coulton has been appointed as agriculture and water general manager at the Bureau of Meteorology.  

Treasury has promoted Luke Spear to an assistant secretary, and Heath Axelby to chief information officer. 

National Indigenous Australians Agency’s new leader

Yindjibarndi woman Jody Broun will be the next chief executive of the National Indigenous Australians Agency.

Jody Broun

Broun, who is from the Western Australia’s Pilbara region, will become the most senior Indigenous person in the Australian Public Service. 

She is currently the chief executive of Aboriginal Housing Office, and group deputy secretary of aboriginal strategy and outcomes with the NSW Planning, Industry and Environment Department. 

Broun said she was looking forward to working with the Coalition of Peaks and all Aboriginal-controlled organisations on implementing the national agreement on Closing the Gap. 

I am committed to hearing from our communities about how we can all do better working in genuine partnership, and ensuring that they are heard by progressing the work on the local and regional voice,” she said. 

“There are so many strong and intelligent Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who have led and paved the way, and others who are doing that right now.” 

Indigenous Australians minister Ken Wyatt said Broun was a highly respected public servant and is passionate about community-led co-design, the economic empowerment of Indigenous Australians and that education is a key driver of positive change in our communities.

“I am thrilled we are able to appoint such an accomplished and talented Aboriginal woman to this role.”

She begins the five-year term on February 14. 

Swimming legend to lead Australian Sports Commission

Kieren Perkins is set to begin the role as new chief executive of the Australian Sports Commission in the first quarter of this year.

Kieren Perkins

Perkins, who won successive gold medals at the 1992 and 1996 Olympic Games, has held roles including as an ASC commissioner, Swimming Australia president, and National Australia Bank executive. 

Perkins said he was excited to accept the role.

“I could not be more thrilled and honoured to be appointed to lead the ASC as Australian sport looks forward to the 2032 Brisbane Olympic and Paralympic Games,” he said. 

Outgoing CEO of Paralympics Australia, Lynne Anderson, has been appointed as a member of the Australian Sports Commission. 

Anderson said she looked forward to working in the ASC to promote community and high-performance sport.

“I am energised by Australia’s successful Olympic and Paralympic Games in Tokyo, which were a triumph despite the dauntingly difficult circumstances of the COVID-19 pandemic,” Anderson said. 

Andrew Ireland was appointed the ASC’s deputy chair Kurt Fearnley and Amanda Laing were re-appointed for three-year terms.

New chief at WA mint

Jason Waters

Jason Waters is the new chief executive of the Perth Mint.

He comes to the role highly qualified in government trading enterprises, with more than 30 years of experience in Western Australia’s energy sector.

Previously he has led Synergy, been chief executive at Verve Energy and has held senior positions at Western Power including chief commercial officer.

He commences in the role in April, while deputy chief executive Jane King will act in his place in the interim.

The mint refines about 83% of Australia’s newly mined gold and sells high-quality precious metals products to buyers worldwide.

State’s new insurance commissioners

Three new commissioners have joined the Insurance Commission of Western Australia board.

The appointments include Emma Scotney, a corporate lawyer with 25 years experience across the resources and agricultural sectors; Dr Alan Rees, who has 25 years’ experience in financial services internationally; and Julie Keene a chartered accountant with 20 years of non-executive director experience across community services, education and tourism industries. 

They commenced in the role on January 1, and replaced former board members John Scott, Carol Dolan and Yasmin Broughton

WA premier Mark McGowan thanked the previous board members and said the new candidates brought new skills. 

“Each candidate brings critical technical and corporate experience that will support the functions of the organisation,” he said.


About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today