Dutton’s shadow line-up

By Tom Ravlic

June 6, 2022

Peter Duton-David Littleproud
Opposition leader Peter Dutton (f) and Nationals leader David Littlepround (b). (AAP Image/Russell Freeman)

Opposition leader Peter Dutton announced his batting lineup over the weekend, which saw several prominent players in the Morrison former government take a step out of the limelight and others not get mentioned in the shadow ministry at all.

An example of the first is senator Marise Payne. Payne – the former minister for foreign affairs — indicated to Dutton she did not want a ministry but has accepted a role as secretary to the shadow cabinet.

A prominent ally of the former PM found himself empty-handed. Alex Hawke was re-elected on May 21 but he was not appointed to a shadow ministry despite having ministerial experience during the previous parliament.

Dutton appointed Angus Taylor to shadow treasurer to take on federal treasurer Jim Chalmers in one of the portfolio areas that dominated the election campaign, with cost of living.

The opposition leader has also appointed Stuart Robert to the posts of shadow assistant treasurer and shadow minister for financial services, with senator Dean Smith taking the role of shadow assistant minister for competition, charities, and treasury.

Former Morison government minister senator Jane Hume takes up the other half of the treasury and finance portfolio with her appointment to shadow minister for finance. She is also the shadow minister for the public service and shadow special minister of state.

This means Hume will shadow her government counterpart, senator Katy Gallagher, in the Senate in both the finance and public sector portfolios.

Members of the National Party’s leadership team have snaffled portfolios centred around agriculture and resources.

National Party leader David Littleproud is shadow minister for agriculture while the Nationals’ deputy leader, Perin Davey, is the shadow minister for water.

National security was a major focus on the campaign and Dutton has appointed the former home affairs minister, Karen Andrews, to shadow the new home affairs minister, Clare O’Neil.

Among the new faces in the ranks of the shadow ministry is senator James Paterson. He has scored two portfolio areas in opposition, with the first being the shadow ministry for cybersecurity — another responsibility held by O’Neil as a part of the Albanese ministry — and the shadow ministry for countering foreign influence.

Two former members are a part of the opposition’s defence policy team, with Andrew Hastie taking up the mantle as shadow minister for defence and Phillip Thompson being the shadow assistant minister for defence.

Former National Party leader Barnaby Joyce was made shadow minister for veterans’ affairs.


When your minister is under a cloud – The Select Committee

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today