Palaszczuk appoints seven directors-general

The Queensland government has continued its efforts to shed the legacy of its predecessor, naming four new directors-general and re-appointing three.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk appointed seven directors-general on Friday morning, keeping three of those put in place under former premier Campbell Newman.

The three retained Newman appointees are Department of Education and Training DG Dr Jim Watterston, Department of Transport and Main Roads DG Neil Scales and Department of Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services DG Michael Hogan.

David Mackie will replace John Sosso as head of the Department of Justice and Attorney-General, while Liza Carroll will take over from Neil Castles at the Department of Housing and Public Works. Michael Walsh, the former deputy director-general of Queensland Health, will take up the top tole at the agency, following the departure of Ian Maynard in February.

Katarina Carroll has been appointed to lead Queensland Fire and Emergency Services after running it in an acting capacity since earlier in the year.

FREE membership to The Mandarin

Receive unlimited access, get all the latest public sector news and features, plus The Juice, our daily news update sent direct to your inbox.

The Mandarin is where Australia's public sector leaders discuss their work and the issues faced within modern bureaucracy. Join today to discover the latest in public administration thinking and news from our dedicated reporters, current and former agency heads and senior executives.

  • roger dennis scott

    Good balance of keeping on the best of the Newman choices (when so many were so dubious in terms of political affiliations aggressively demonstrated) and some sensible upgrades and re-treads. Taken together they will offer some stability and access to organisational memory to help green and distracted Ministers. It will be interesting to see if there is any genuine “new blood” among the final ten DG appointments.