Best in the West: recognition at annual public service accolades

The 2015 IPAA WA Achievement Awards were held last week over lunch at the Hyatt Regency, Perth. Congratulations to all the winners.

Some of the best public servants in Western Australia received well deserved praise and recognition last Friday alongside a few top guns from the charitable sector at their state’s Institute for Public Administration Australia achievement awards, hosted by IPAA WA president Sven Bluemmel.

Bluemmel said there was an overwhelming response to the two collaboration awards, “indicative of the successful collaborations between government and non-government agencies in WA to provide better outcomes for the community.”

Cheryl Gwilliam and Sean L’Estrange MLA.

Cheryl Gwilliam and Sean L’Estrange MLA.

Top of the list was Cheryl Gwilliam, who has led the Department of the Attorney-General since 2007 and won the Patrons Award, WA’s highest public sector accolade. She sits on the WA Public Sector Commission’s Centre for Public Sector Excellence advisory board and has overseen the introduction of employment targets in her department for indigenous people and people with disabilities, as well as traineeships to bring in younger people.

FREE membership to The Mandarin

Receive unlimited access, get all the latest public sector news and features, plus The Juice, our daily news update sent direct to your inbox.

The Mandarin is where Australia's public sector leaders discuss their work and the issues faced within modern bureaucracy. Join today to discover the latest in public administration thinking and news from our dedicated reporters, current and former agency heads and senior executives.