Dr. Ken Henry

By The Mandarin

April 22, 2014

Dr Henry has a number of roles at ANU, including chairing the ANU Public Policy Fellows, the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute and the Sir Roland Wilson Foundation.

He is also Chair of the Advisory Council of the SMART Infrastructure Facility at the University of Wollongong and a member of the Boards of National Australia Bank, the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) and Reconciliation Australia.
He is a Governor of CEDA and a Council member of Voiceless.

Dr Henry held senior policy advising positions in the Australian Treasury from late 1984 until early 2011. From 2001 to 2011 he was Secretary to the Treasury and a member of the Board of the Reserve Bank of Australia and the Board of Taxation.
In 1997 and 1998 he chaired the Howard Government’s tax review task force that produced the policy blueprint, A New Tax System. He was a member of the Howard Government’s Task Group on Emissions Trading in 2007.

In 2009 to 2010 he chaired the Review into Australia’s Future Tax System commissioned by the Rudd Government. As Special Adviser to Prime Minister Gillard in 2011 and 2012, Dr Henry was responsible for leading the development of the Australia in the Asian Century White Paper.
Dr Henry holds a first class honours degree in economics from the University of NSW (1979) and a PhD in economics from the University of Canterbury, NZ (1982).

Dr Henry was awarded a Companion of the Order of Australia, General Division (AC) in the Australia Day Honours 2007. In May 2009, Dr Henry was awarded the degree of Doctor of Business honoris causa from the University of NSW.
In November 2012 Dr Henry was made a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today