Professor Gary Banks

By The Mandarin

April 22, 2014

Professor Gary Banks commenced as Dean and CEO of the Australia New Zealand School of Government in January, 2013, bringing to ANZSOG his wide experience and understanding of major public policy issues, following a long and successful leadership record at the Productivity Commission, which has become Australia’s most respected independent source of policy research and advice to Government.

Professor Banks was Chairman of the Productivity Commission from its inception in 1998. In addition to overseeing the Commission’s development and activities, he personally headed national inquiries on a variety of significant public policy and regulatory topics. These included research and development, infrastructure regulation, greenhouse policy, private health insurance, gambling policy, housing affordability, availability of finance, the National Competition Policy, executive remuneration, import safeguards and trans-Tasman economic relations.

For many years, Gary Banks chaired the COAG Steering Committee for the Review of Government Services, which produces a major report (the Blue Book) annually. He was also the initial Convenor for the Review’s Working Group on Indigenous Disadvantage. For several years, he had responsibility for overseeing the Commonwealth’s regulation-making processes through the Office of Regulation Review, and in 2007 established its successor body, the Office of Best Practice Regulation.

In earlier years, Gary worked at the Centre for International Economics, Canberra, and has been a consultant to the OECD, World Bank and WTO. He was previously a Senior Economist with the GATT Secretariat in Geneva, and Visiting Fellow at the Trade Policy Research Centre, London. He holds degrees in economics from Monash University and the Australian National University.

Gary Banks was made a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia in 2001 and a National Fellow in 2008. He was elected to the ANU Economics Department’s ‘Hall of Fame’ in 2002 and received the Chancellor’s Medal in 2004. In 2010 he was elected Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA). He was also awarded an inaugural Monash University Fellowship. In 2013 he was made an Alan McGregor Fellow of the Centre for Independent Studies. In 2012, his last year at the Productivity Commission, he was included by the Australian Financial Review as one of 25 ‘true leaders’ and in The Australian newspaper’s top 50 politically influential Australians. Gary Banks received the Centenary Medal in 2003 and, in 2007, was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for ‘services to the development of public policy in microeconomic reform and regulation’.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today