Wendy Craik appointed Climate Change Authority chair

By David Donaldson

October 8, 2015

Wendy Craik
Wendy Craik

Former National Farmers Federation head Wendy Craik has been named chair of the Climate Change Authority board, following the resignation of Bernie Fraser last month.

The federal government has appointed four others, including Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry CEO Kate Carnell, Howard government transport minister John Sharp and Frontier Economics energy expert Danny Price and BidEnergy chief executive Stuart Allinson.

Quorum has been restored to the board, which was lost after the departure of Fraser and the failure of the government to replace other members who had left over the previous 18 months.

Craik was commissioner of the Productivity Commission from 2009 to 2014, and is currently deputy chancellor for the University of South Australia, chair of the NSW Marine Estate Management Authority and a member of the advisory board for the Centre for Strategy and Governance.

Allinson will sit as acting chair until Craik assumes the role, expected in the next few weeks. Allinson and Price were involved in the creation of the government’s Direct Action policy.

The decision was made under the prime ministership of Tony Abbott and adopted by Malcolm Turnbull after a cabinet discussion, reports The Australian newspaper.

Relations between the CCA under Fraser and the Abbott government were uneasy. The government had promised to abolish the CCA until it reached a deal with the Palmer United Party in October last year to save the organisation by funding an 18-month inquiry into whether Australia should have an emissions trading scheme, despite the government remaining opposed to carbon pricing. This work is to continue.

The CCA is charged with undertaking reviews and making recommendations to government on emissions reduction targets and other climate change-related policy areas.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Canberra’s changed

Stay on top for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today