Public sector's best, brightest honoured with IPAA fellowships

By The Mandarin

October 15, 2015

A new class of national IPAA fellows and young public sector leader awardees were been announced at the 2015 Garran Oration in Sydney on Wednesday night.

The national fellowship is the highest peer-judged award from the Australia public sector’s most prominent professional association, for individuals who have made a substantial contribution to the study or practice of public administration at local, state, national or international levels.

The 2015 IPAA fellows are:

  • Glenys Beauchamp, secretary for the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science.
  • Richard Bolt, secretary of the Victorian Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources.
  • Margaret Crawford, deputy secretary for Corporate Services in the NSW Department of Family and Community Services.
  • Chris Eccles, secretary of the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet.
  • Anne Gale, South Australia’s commissioner for equal opportunity.
  • Cheryl Gwilliam, director-general of the Western Australian Department of the Attorney General.
  • Graham Head, commissioner of the NSW Public Service Commission.
  • Greg Johannes, secretary of the Tasmanian Department of Premier and Cabinet.
  • Kathy Leigh, head of service for the ACT public service, and director-general of the ACT Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate.
  • George Masri, senior assistant ombudsman in the Commonwealth Ombudsman’s Office.
  • Susan Pascoe, inaugural commissioner for the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission (ACNC).

Young Public Sector Leader Awards

IPAA has also recognised the achievements of outstanding public servants under the age of 40 from the graduates of the ANZSOG executive master of public administration program.

  • From the Victorian Department of Education and Early Childhood Development Victoria – Senior Resource Analyst: Dan O’Brien.
  • From the New South Wales Department of Premier and Cabinet New South Wales – the Manager of Ministerial Services in the Office of Environmental Services: Gavin Seymour
  • And from the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade – the Director of the Solomon Islands Section: Alison Duncan

Sam Richardson Award

Awarded in the legacy of the founding principal of the Canberra College of Advanced Education which was the forerunner of the University of Canberra, the Sam Richardson Award is given to the best article published in the Australian Journal of Public Administration during the year.

The 2015 Sam Richardson Award went to a paper called “Leadership in Local Government: ‘No Girls Allowed'” by Jacquie Hutchinson, Elizabeth Walker and Fiona Haslam McKenzie.



About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today