Will Queensland Greats name from public sector's next generation?

By The Mandarin

March 14, 2016

2016 Queensland Greats Awards

Only one career public servant has been named to list of Queensland Greats since the award was created in 2001 — Joh Bjelke-Petersen’s long-standing director-general, Sydney Schubert. Will 2016 be the year he is joined by someone in the next generation of public service leaders?

The state government is calling for nominations of “outstanding Queenslanders”, individuals or institutions, who have made extraordinary, lifetime contributions to the state.

To date, those named to the venerable list have mostly come from the sporting, artistic, business and philanthropy worlds, while the institutions category has recently included public sector organisations such as the Queensland State Emergency Service.

The only potential hint as to what the judges may be looking for this year appeared in the nomination form instructions:

“Include a description line (2–5 words) of your nominee that would be featured on the  recipient’s plaque, if the nomination is successful. i.e. Equality Advocate”

Others named in recent years include, former lord mayor Sallyanne Atkinson, activist Steve Irwin (posthumously), actor Deborah Mailman, and journalist Kerry O’Brien.

Nominations close this Friday. Queensland Greats will be named during Queensland Week, June 4-12, and honoured with commemorative plaques displayed at Roma Street Parkland, Brisbane.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
The Mandarin Premium

Insights & analysis that matter to you

Subscribe for only $5 a week


Get Premium Today