Who's who of the new public administration national fellows

By Harley Dennett

October 21, 2016

They’re some of the most remarkable people in government, the who’s who of the sector, across all tiers. The next cohort of IPAA national fellows was revealed on Thursday night, joining the likes of past fellows like Barbara Belcher, Dr Martin Parkinson, and Dr Kerry Schott.

“The reason that Australia is able to run a high-quality, low-cost public sector is that our sector contains some very remarkable people,” says Penny Armytage, IPAA national president.

2016 IPAA national fellows

  • Jane Halton, outgoing secretary of the federal Department of Finance … now has a new job in the private sector
  • Martin Hoffman, secretary of the New South Wales Department of Finance, Services and Innovation
  • Tim Mares, director of strategic economics at South Australia’s Department of State Development
  • Sharryn O’Neill, director-general of the Western Australian Department of Education
  • Samantha Palmer, general manager, governance, people and culture, Australian Bureau of Statistics
  • Kym Peake, secretary of the Victorian Department of Health and Human Services
  • Adrian Robb, chief executive officer of the City of Bayside in Melbourne
  • Paul Sutton, chief executive officer of the City of Charles Sturt in Adelaide

Recognising up-and-coming leaders

The IPAA young public sector leader awards recognises the achievements of outstanding public servants under the age of 40 who have completed the executive master of public administration program at ANZSOG.

  • Andrew Read from the Victorian Department of Education and Training
  • Daniele Pile from the New South Wales Office of Environment and Heritage
  • David Nicholson from Tasmania’s Department of Premier and Cabinet
About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals