Medals for mandarins in the 2017 Australia Day honours

By The Mandarin

Friday January 27, 2017

The head of the Prime Minister’s department was among 11 Australians to receive Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) honours from the Governor-General yesterday, in recognition of his achievements in public sector leadership roles.

Martin Parkinson’s first entry into the general division of the honour roll — he received the Public Service Medal in 2008 — refers to his current role as secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet as well as previous positions as head of Treasury and the former Department of Climate Change:

“For eminent service to the Australian community through leadership in public sector roles, to innovative government administration and high level program delivery, to the development of economic policy, and to climate change strategy.”

Peter Woolcott AO
Peter Woolcott AO

Australia’s High Commissioner to New Zealand Peter Woolcott was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) — an award bestowed on his father Richard in 1985 — for his contributions as a diplomat, particularly to arms control.

Bernard McKay, who was secretary of the New South Wales and federal health departments in the 1980s, also received an AO, for his service to public administration and to the health sector.

So did Victorian public transport expert Gary Liddle, for his “leadership in policy direction, infrastructure development, road safety and regulatory reform” in past public sector roles, and Australia Post’s chief executive Ahmed Fahour, for his work as a business executive and support for multiculturalism.

Service to public administration appears next to the names of eight Member of the Order of Australia (AM) recipients this year, and three winners of the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

There were 36 Public Service Medals awarded this year — a third of which awarded to women — as well as 37 Australian Police Medals, 32 Australian Fire Service Medals, 21 Ambulance Service Medals and 17 Emergency Services Medals. The full list with brief biographies of the winners is available on the Governor-General’s website.

AM winners recognised for public administration:

Mr Denis Thomas Baguley

For significant service to public administration in Victoria
through infrastructure project management, and to
veterans and their families.

Mr Gary John Barnes

For significant service to public administration in the areas
of industry development, major projects, education and
human resource programs.

Dr Lynne Susanna Williams

For significant service to public sector administration, and
to economic and public policy reform in Victoria.

Ms Barbara May Yeoh

For significant service to public administration and to
business, to community health care, and to transport

Mr David Ian Stanton

For distinguished service to public administration, to social
policy development, and as an academic.

Dr Thomas Syme Karmel

For significant service to vocational education research
and administration, and to the community through public
administration roles.

His Honour Judge Graeme Leslie Henson

For significant service to the law and to the judiciary, to
public administration, to legal standards, and to education.

Mr Peter John Garrisson SC

For significant service to the law, to the legal profession,
and to public administration, in the Australian Capital

OAM winners recognised for public administration

Mr Timothy James Smith

For service to public administration, and to maritime
history preservation.

Ms Cecily Ann Pearson

For service to the Crown, and to public administration.

Mr Peter Jones

For service to public administration in Queensland, and to
the arts.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals