Top local government projects recognised for innovative service delivery

By Harley Dennett

May 1, 2017

Innovative communities got the nod today with the reveal of 10 councils who made the shortlist for the top prize in local government innovation: the 2017 National Awards for Local Government.

Awards celebrate local government contributions to community growth through innovative service delivery projects, and help recognise local governments that build their communities.

Fiona Nash, Minister for Local Government and Territories, announced the category winners on Monday and congratulated all the nominees and winners for this year’s awards.

“These are incredible projects directly benefitting communities. From improving road safety through a flood warning system, to enhancing inclusion for people with disabilities, and providing solutions to youth unemployment,” Nash said in a statement.

“The National Awards for Local Government celebrate the outstanding achievements of local councils in providing Australia’s communities with a wide range of new or improved, high-quality, cost-effective services. Importantly the awards provide all those involved in planning and implementing these innovative projects with the national recognition they deserve.

“The awards present an opportunity to celebrate the essential role local governments play in generating social change and economic growth across Australia.”

The winner of the 2017 National Award for Excellence in Local Government will be announced at the Australian Local Government Association national general assembly dinner on June 20.

The category winners

  • Tasmania’s Meander Valley Council for its Valley Central Industrial Precinct, Westbury, Tasmania project, in the Contributing to Regional Growth category;
  • Victoria’s Southern Grampians Shire Council for its Digital Transformation of a rural community – a journey project, in the Digital Innovation in Local Government category;
  • Western Australia’s Shire of Kalamunda for its Youth Employment project, in the Youth Economic Participation category;
  • Queensland’s Gladstone Regional Council for its Waste Powering Gladstone’s Greener Future: The Benaraby Landfill Gas-to-Power Project, in the Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure category;
  • South Australia’s Coorong District Council for its Creating Coonalpyn project in the Arts Animates – excellence in the capacity building and innovation category;
  • Queensland’s Brisbane City Council for its Brisbane Access and Inclusion Plan: 2012 – 2017 Implementation project, in the Disability Access and Inclusion category;
  • South Australia’s City of West Torrens for its Summer Festival project in the Multicultural Australia – Strength in Diversity category;
  • Queensland’s Logan City Council for its Flooded Road Smart Warning System project, in the Excellence in Road Safety category;
  • Victoria’s Wyndham City Council for its WynLens – Visualization, Analysis and Modelling of Holographic City project, in the Innovation to Create More Liveable Australian Cities category; and
  • New South Wales’ Sutherland Shire Council for its Ngnamapa Kililpil: OUR STARS project, in the Promoting Indigenous Recognition category.

Also recognised as highly commended were: City of Albany, WABella Kelly Retrospective; City of Joondalup, WAKaleidoscope Festival; Logan City Council, QLDContributing to Council Priorities—(TIMS) Totally Independent Managed Supply; Latrobe City Council, VIC—Moe Rail Precinct Revitalisation Project Stage 1; Mackay Regional Council, QLD—Dudley Denney City Library; Tweed Shire Council, NSW—Inclusion Means Toilets—A Partnership Approach to the Access and Audit and Upgrade of Designated Access;  City of Charles Sturt, SA—40km/h Area speed limit for local streets in the City of Charles Sturt.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals