Text size: A A A

Victorian reshuffle to fill hole left by departing minister

As the parliament geared up to debate assisted dying legislation, the Victorian government announced a minor ministerial reshuffle to replace outgoing minister Wade Noonan.

Noonan, who held the positions of minister for resources and minister for industry, announced he was leaving politics for family reasons two weeks ago. He will continue as member for Williamstown until the next election, due in November 2018.

Noonan took a leave of absence from his responsibilities last year after being exposed to “unspeakable crimes and traumatic events” as police and corrections minister, though he said his resignation was unrelated.

Treasurer Tim Pallas will take over the resources portfolio. First on the list of priorities will be to “ensure Victorians aren’t short-changed on GST” — which will bring the garden state into conflict with Western Australia — and working with the chief scientist to determine the potential for onshore conventional gas exploration in future.

Member for Niddrie Ben Carroll will be elevated to cabinet as minister for industry and employment.

The job will see Carroll, previously parliamentary secretary for justice, managing the transition of the automotive industry and ensuring workers are supported to retrain and find new jobs.

Jenny Mikakos will add a new portfolio of early childhood education to her existing portfolios of families and children, and youth affairs.

The announcement follows another recent minor reshuffle, when Natalie Hutchins took over as minister for women and the prevention of family violence, following the death from cancer of Fiona Richardson in August.

Here’s the full list of Victorian ministers:

Minister Portfolio
Daniel Andrews Premier
Jacinta Allan Minister for Public Transport

Minister for Major Projects

Leader of the House (Legislative Assembly)

Ben Carroll Minister for Industry and Employment
Philip Dalidakis Minister for Trade and Investment

Minister for Innovation and the Digital Economy

Minister for Small Business

Lily D’Ambrosio Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change

Minister for Suburban Development

Luke Donnellan Minister for Roads and Roads Safety

Minister for Ports

John Eren Minister for Tourism and Major Events

Minister for Sport

Minister for Veterans

Martin Foley Minister for Housing, Disability and Ageing

Minister for Mental Health

Minister for Equality

Minister for Creative Industries

Jill Hennessy Minister for Health

Minister for Ambulance Services

Natalie Hutchins Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Minister for Industrial Relations

Minister for Women

Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence

Gavin Jennings Special Minister of State

Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

Marlene Kairouz Minister for Consumer Affairs, Gaming and Liquor Regulation

Minister for Local Government

James Merlino Deputy Premier

Minister for Education

Minister for Emergency Services

Jenny Mikakos Minister for Families and Children

Minister for Early Childhood Education

Minister for Youth Affairs

Lisa Neville Minister for Police

Minister for Water

Martin Pakula Attorney-General

Minister for Racing

Tim Pallas Treasurer

Minister for Resources

Jaala Pulford Minister for Agriculture

Minister for Regional Development

Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

Robin Scott Minister for Finance

Minister for Multicultural Affairs

Gayle Tierney Minister for Corrections

Minister for Training and Skills

Richard Wynne Minister for Planning

Author Bio

David Donaldson

David Donaldson is a journalist at The Mandarin based in Melbourne.