How the Queensland bureaucracy will settle after the reshuffle

By The Mandarin

December 19, 2017

There will be 18 public service departments — with a few new names — in the second Palaszczuk Queensland government last week’s administrative arrangements revealed.

There’ll be a few new names among the directors-general too, with local media reporting Frankie Carroll, Paul Simshauser, Jim Reeves, and Tamara O’Shea are walking.

The communities department has been split in two: the main one will keep disability services and seniors, while the new breakaway will take child safety, youth and women.

Employment is also getting its own new department, and siphoning small business from the department that used to handle tourism and Commonwealth Games.

Science and innovation will part ways: innovation will grab the remainder of tourism and Commonwealth Games, while science heads over to environment.

State development and infrastructure were separate departments but will come together in the new arrangements, also handling manufacturing and planning.

National Parks, Sports and Racing is no more. Thanks to the ministerial reshuffle, sports will now sit with housing and public works, while racing and multicultural affairs stick together as they move over to local government.

Two departments for the state’s most contentious industry will collapse into one. National Resources and Mines will merge with Energy and Water Supply, but water has been dropped from the final name.

Education and Training is now just the Department of Education, as the vocational training portfolio has been combined with jobs, creating the Department of Employment, Small Business and Training.

The new department and top agency names

  • Department of the Premier and Cabinet (DG)
  • Public Service Commission (CEO)
  • Queensland Treasury (Under Treasurer)
  • Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships (DG)
  • Department of State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning (DG)
  • Department of Innovation, Tourism Industry Development and the Commonwealth Games (DG)
  • Department of Justice and Attorney-General (DG)
  • Public Trust Office (Public Trustee)
  • Queensland Health (DG)
  • Queensland Ambulance Service (Commissioner)
  • Department of Education (DG)
  • Department of Transport and Main Roads (DG)
  • Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy (DG)
  • Department of Housing and Public Works (DG)
  • Department of Employment, Small Business and Training (DG)
  • Department of Environment and Science (DG)
  • Queensland Police Service (Commissioner)
  • Public Safety Business Agency (CEO)
  • Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors (DG)
  • Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (DG)
  • Department of Local Government, Racing and Multicultural Affairs (DG)
  • Queensland Reconstruction Authority (CEO)
  • Department of Child Safety, Youth and Women (DG)
  • Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (DG)

Correction: an earlier version of this article stated there were no changes to the Department of Education’s responsibilities.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals