Text size: A A A

Queen’s birthday honours: the public servants recognised

Former Commonwealth and state departmental secretary Robyn Kruk and departmental secretary-turned head of the Business Council of Australia Jennifer Westacott were among those recognised for their contributions to public administration and public policy in this year’s Queen’s birthday honours list.

Former Commissioner of Fire and Rescue NSW Greg Mullins was also awarded an AO, as was former diplomat and head of the Office of National Assessments Bruce Miller.

The 2018 list included many more women than previous years, taking out six of 10 places in the highest category, companion of the order of Australia (AC).

Below is a list of public service medal winners, as well as those in other categories recognised for their contribution to public administration.

Officer in the general division (AO)

Robyn Kruk (NSW). For distinguished service to public administration, particularly through mental health reform, to environmental protection and natural resource management, and to food standards.

Bruce Miller (ACT). For distinguished service to public administration through diplomatic roles and bilateral trade agreements, and to fostering cultural and strategic partnerships with Japan.

Greg Mullins (NSW). For distinguished service to the community of New South Wales through leadership in fire-fighting, to the emergency response sector, and to gender equity in recruitment.

Jennifer Westacott (NSW). For distinguished service to private and public sector administration through executive roles, to policy development and reform, to cross sector collaboration, to equity, and to business.

Member in the general division (AM)

Donald Allen (Victoria) For significant service to education through roles in the development of public policy and accreditation standards.

Anne Banks-McAllister (WA). For significant service to women through roles advancing gender equality, particularly in local government.

Carol Buckley (WA). For significant service to the Crown, and to public administration in Western Australia.

Air Commodore Mark Gower (Qld). For service to the Crown, and to public administration in Queensland.

Reece Waldock (WA). For significant service to public administration, particularly to transport and infrastructure planning and development in Western Australia, and to the community.

Public service medal (PSM)


Peter Clark. For outstanding public service through contributions to the stability and security of the Australian and international financial sector.

Dr Janis Cocking. For outstanding public service to Defence science and technology.

Natasha Dawes. For outstanding public service in leading and delivering Medicare initiatives.

Jane Gallagher. For outstanding public service in the areas of nursing services to veterans.

Gary Johnston. For outstanding public service through improving national and international scientific program delivery in satellite positioning and geodesy.

Allan McKinnon. For outstanding public service through significantly enhancing Australia’s national security.

Sandra Ragg. For outstanding public service in leadership and policy-making in the cyber security arena.

Padma Raman. For outstanding public service in leading significant cultural, technological and governance change at the Australian Human Rights Commission.

Lisa Rauter. For outstanding public service in establishing the ground-breaking initiative innovationXchange.

Clayton Trevilyan. For outstanding public service through the creation of more inclusive and accessible workplaces for APS employees with a disability.

New South Wales

Katherine Alexander. For outstanding public service to family and community services in NSW.

Jason Ardler. For outstanding public service to Indigenous people in NSW.

Kent Boyd. For outstanding public service to local government in NSW.

Laura Christie. For outstanding public service to policy development and reform initiatives in NSW.

Kevin Corcoran. For outstanding public service to Justice and Corrective Services in NSW.

Kenneth Gainger. For outstanding public service to local government in NSW.

Lucy Kinsley. For outstanding public service to community library services in NSW.

Lorraine Lam. For outstanding public service to the social housing system in NSW.

Tracey McCosker. For outstanding public service to community health in NSW.

Paul Maguire. For outstanding public service to conservation and environmental education in NSW.

Dr Robert Mensah. For outstanding public service to the primary industries sector in NSW.

Dr Joanne Mitchell. For outstanding public service to population health policy in NSW.

Michael Waterhouse. For outstanding public service to education through legal counsel roles in NSW.

David Woods. For outstanding public service to National Parks and to the environment of NSW.


Richard Bolt. For outstanding public service through leadership, and innovation inenergy, agriculture, education, transport, economic development and carbon policy in Victoria and nationally.

Terry Garwood. For outstanding public service across multiple policy areas, and to public sector diversity and inclusion in Victoria.

Elizabeth Goss. For outstanding public service to the correctional services sector in Victoria.

Julia Griffith. For outstanding public service to youth justice and correctional services in Victoria.

Denise McLaughlin. For outstanding public service to the delivery of child protection services in Victoria.

Jodie Quilliam. For outstanding public service to records management practice in Victoria.


Dr Graham Fraine. For outstanding public service to social science research and policy development in Queensland.

Kirsten Herring. For outstanding public service to arts policy development in Queensland.

Julianne Mitchell. For outstanding public service to transport infrastructure in Queensland.

Western Australia

Dr Raymond Masini. For outstanding public service to marine ecology and environmental protection in WA.

Keith Woodward. For outstanding public service to local government administration in WA.

Australian Capital Territory

Bronwen Overton-Clarke. For outstanding public service in the ACT, particularly in the area of public sector standards.

Author Bio

David Donaldson

David Donaldson is a journalist at The Mandarin based in Melbourne.