Morrison government’s first ministry

By The Mandarin

Sunday August 26, 2018

Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison speaks to the media during a press conference at Parliament House in Canberra, Sunday, August 26, 2018. Scott Morrison today revealed his newly formed ministry. (AAP Image/Lukas Coch) NO ARCHIVING

The Prime Minister’s Office has released the first ministry of Scott Morrison’s government.

Administrative Arrangement Orders have not yet been issued. The split portfolios below — such as Energy and Environment — may not imply machinery of government changes beyond simply accommodating an extra cabinet minister in the portfolio.

Prime Minister The Hon Scott Morrison MP
Minister for Indigenous Affairs Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion
Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister Mr Steve Irons MP
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development The Hon Michael McCormack MP
Minister for Regional Services, Sport, Local Government and Decentralisation Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie
Minister for Cities, Urban Infrastructure and Population The Hon Alan Tudge MP
Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories
Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister
Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport
The Hon Sussan Ley MP
Mr Andrew Broad MP
Mr Scott Buchholz MP
Assistant Treasurer
Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance
The Hon Josh Frydenberg MP
The Hon Stuart Robert MP
Senator the Hon Zed Seselja
Minister for Finance and the Public Service
(Vice-President of the Executive Council)
(Leader of the Government in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann
Special Minister of State The Hon Alex Hawke MP
Assistant Minister for Treasury and Finance Senator the Hon Zed Seselja
Minister for Defence (Leader of the House) The Hon Christopher Pyne MP
Minister for Defence Industry The Hon Steven Ciobo MP
Minister for Veterans’ Affairs The Hon Darren Chester MP
Minister for Defence Personnel
(Deputy Leader of the House)
The Hon Darren Chester MP
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC
Assistant Minister for Defence
The Hon Darren Chester MP
Senator David Fawcett
Minister for Foreign Affairs Senator the Hon Marise Payne
Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment
(Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Simon Birmingham
Assistant Minister for International Development and the Pacific Senator the Hon Anne Ruston
Assistant Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment The Hon Mark Coulton MP
Attorney-General  The Hon Christian Porter MP
Minister for Home Affairs The Hon Peter Dutton MP
Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs The Hon David Coleman MP
Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator Linda Reynolds CSC
Minister for Communications and the Arts
(Manager of Government Business in the Senate)
Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield
Minister for Jobs, Industrial Relations and Women
Minister for Small and Family Business, Skills and Vocational Education 
The Hon Kelly O’Dwyer MP
Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash
Minister for Resources and Northern Australia Senator the Hon Matthew Canavan
Minister for Industry, Science and Technology The Hon Karen Andrews MP
Minister for Education The Hon Dan Tehan MP
Minister for Health  The Hon Greg Hunt MP
Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care The Hon Ken Wyatt AM MP
Minister for Indigenous Health The Hon Ken Wyatt AM MP
Minister for Families and Social Services The Hon Paul Fletcher MP
Minister for Human Services and Digital Transformation
Assistant Minister for Social Services, Housing and Disability Services
The Hon Michael Keenan MP
Ms Sarah Henderson MP
Assistant Minister for Children and Families Ms Michelle Landry MP
Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources  The Hon David Littleproud MP
Assistant Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck
Minister for the Environment The Hon Melissa Price MP
Minister for Energy The Hon Angus Taylor MP

Each box represents a portfolio. Cabinet Ministers are shown in bold type.  As a general rule, there is one department in each portfolio.  However, there can be two Departments in one portfolio. The title of a department does not necessarily reflect the title of a minister in all cases. Assistant Ministers in italics are designated as Parliamentary Secretaries under the Ministers of State Act 1952.

About the author
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

The essential resource for effective
public sector professionals